First Row: Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, 
Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Frederica Chase Dodd 

Second Row: Osceola Macarthy Adams, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman, 
Edith Motte Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza P. Shippen

Third Row: Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, 
Florence Letcher Toms, Olive Jones, Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson

The original artwork is a life-sized painting on canvas created by artist Tarleton Blackwell. The original hangs in the National Headquarters Office in Washington, D.C.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is a, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.


Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women.


This includes 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.


The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:

  •  Economic Development 

  • Physical and Mental Health

  • Educational Development

  • Political Awareness and Involvement

  • International Awareness and Involvement


For more information, visit our national website at

Visit the Central Region’s Website at


Chapter History

Standing: Cheryl Mills, Michele McRoy, Lawanda Shockley, Contejean Peoples (Omega Omega), Sharon Reid (Omega Omega), Renee Kerr and Charlene Congo

Seated: Sonia Solomon and Thorolese Hunt

Not Pictured: Diane Butts, Gwendolyn Carr and Elaine Hicks

The Leavenworth Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Inc., was chartered on April 30, 1989 to provide quality community service and programming in the Leavenworth area.


The mission of Leavenworth Alumnae Chapter is to make a difference in the lives of people in the local communities through education, service, scholarship, and social action programs.


The Leavenworth Alumnae chapter's first official action was participation in Post Activities and Information Registration. (P.A.I.R.) Day at Fort Leavenworth. This semi-annual event provides a single point location for clubs, service organizations, and other activities to inform the community of their upcoming events. The Leavenworth Chapter uses this venue to invite Sorors that are new to the area to become an active part of the chapter and community. The chapter continues to participate in this semi-annual event. The chapter was conceived by three torch bearers: Thorolese Hunt, Michele McRoy, and Charlene Wilson.


Charter Members:

Dianne L. Butts

Gwendolyn L. Carr

Elaine M. Hicks

Thorolese J. Hunt

Renee R. Kerr

Michele J. McRoy

Cheryl D. Mills

Contejean B. Peoples (Omega Omega)

Sharon L. Reid (Omega Omega)

LaWanda F. Shockley

Sonia R. Solomon

Charlene J. Wilson

Past Chapter Presidents


1989 - 1990        Thorolese Hunt
1990 - 1991        Sharon Reid (Omega Omega)
1991 - 1993        Thorolese Hunt
1993 - 1993        Karen Wilson 
1993 - 1994        Mattie Fallen
1994 - 1995        Myra Williams 
1995 - 1997        Karen Wilson 
1997 - 1999        Janet Wilson 
1999 - 2001        Michele McRoy
2001 - 2003        Edith Cotton
2003 - 2005        Vambie White 
2005 - 2005        Tonya Lovelace
2005 - 2006        Barbara Brown
2006 - 2008        Ann Moss 
2008 - 2010        Laura Coaxum 
2010 - 2011        Nan Tyree 
2011 - 2013        Renee Wilson

2013 - 2014        Ayesha Agboga

2014 - 2016        Kondra Gibson-Dingle

2016 - 2018        Natalie Bynum

2018 - 2020        Chandra Fairley

Chapter Recognitions and Awards

The Leavenworth Alumnae Chapter received the following awards at the 48th Central Regional Conference:

1) Small Chapter Red Ribbon Award for Commitment and Superior Performance

2) Small Chapter Distinguished Service Award for Educational Development 

3) Certificate recognizing LAC'S commitment to combating Domestic Violence among African Americans



*Congratulations to our 1st VP, Soror Chevelle Lewis Wagstaff, for her acceptance to the Delta PEARL Leadership Program


Regional Awards for the Chapter

 - Recognition for American Red Cross Regional Community Service Project

 - Economic Development Distinguished Service Award. Small Chapter (first time)

 - Educational Development Distinguished Service Award, Small Chapter

 - Arts & Letters Program of the Year, Small Chapter (first time)

 - Regional Director's Award (first time)

 - Red Ribbon Superior Service Award, Small Chapter

National Awards for the Chapter

  -2019 National Heritage Celebration Award (first time)


National Scholarship & Standards 

 - 2019 Seed Grant Award (first time)


Leavenworth Alumnae Chapter
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
P.O. Box 613
Leavenworth, KS 66048
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2018-2020 This website is the sole property and responsibility of the Leavenworth Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated